Summer Reading (Grades 6-8)

11 of 12
Slide 10

The Land and Other Books by Mildred D. Taylor
by Mildred D. Taylor

All of Mildred D. Taylor's novels to date are based on stories from her own family, stories she learned at family gatherings throughout her life. The Logan stories closely follow the history of Taylor's own family, from her great-grandfather's purchase of land in Mississippi in the 1880s to their move to Ohio in the 1940s. The as-yet-untitled Logan, currently Taylor's last novel planned for the saga, will take Cassie and her brothers through World War II.

Study Guide and Activities

View our slideshow gallery

If you need to teach it, we have it covered.

Start your free trial to gain instant access to thousands of expertly curated worksheets, activities, and lessons created by educational publishers and teachers.

Start Your Free Trial

Follow us on:

Follow TeacherVision on Facebook
Follow TeacherVision on Google Plus